Did you miss me?

I don’t know how to begin.

It’s been a month since I last posted and I feel like I’ve forgotten how to write. Honestly, I’m having trouble stringing words together to form coherent sentences.

Of course, this inability to write coherently can also be attributed to the fact that, for the last month or so, I had been giving exams. Lots and lots of exams. By the time the exams finished a couple of days ago, my sanity had been irreparably damaged. Evidence for this comes from the fact that I had my French orals today, and during the discussion, I vehemently and passionately explained to my French teacher that all French people are named ‘cheese’ and then tried to convince her that I have a twin sister who is a year older than me.

I don’t even have a sister.

So pardon me if I sound crazy today. And tomorrow. And for the next couple of years. It’s left a lasting impact.

This brings me to my next point: I haven’t posted in a month. I am deeply sorry and to make up for this, I will post twice this week. Twice, ladies and gentlemen! Prepare yourselves. And as for why I haven’t posted in a month, I’m sticking to my excuse: the exams did it. In fact, I hold that exams are responsible for every problem in the world. Irregular blogging. Global warming. Excessive bee swarming.

(Sorry. Rhymes are my defence mechanism.)

Coincidentally, in this one month away from the blogosphere, a lot of important things have happened. I got nominated to be a BlogHer Voice of The Year (VoTY) for the post ‘All I Wanted was to be Rich and Famous’. I got Freshly Pressed a second time, for the same post. And it was my birthday. (I got A LOT OF chocolate. Score!)

So this so-called apology post is now going to transform into a rambling, teary, warm and fuzzy acceptance speech. Feel free to stop reading. I’ve made a list of people to thank because I don’t want to forget anybody.

1. The BlogHer people. I don’t know who you are, but I will find you, and I will hug you.
Or maybe not. I don’t like hugging.
But seriously, you people are awesome. Many, many thanks for choosing my post.

2. The WordPress people. The first time I got Freshly Pressed, it was for a post worshipping the nameless, faceless WordPress gods and promising to be their humble servant.
This time, it was for a post that was nominated for the BlogHer VoTY.
So I don’t feel like either of these Freshly Pressed badges is a legitimate award. No, I’m not angling for another. I’m very, very grateful.
So WordPress, I’d like to thank you for acknowledging my sheer magnificence and giving me two Freshly Pressed badges (And I’ll be waiting for a share in your company).

3. You guys. A big thank you to everyone who took time out to read, like, comment or follow. I’ve come so far, from having five followers to touching three thousand. It’s all because of you. So to celebrate, visit my blog tomorrow at 3 pm. I’ll be handing out free virtual chocolate-chip cookies. Yes, you read that right. Chocolate-chip!

Okay, so that’s the end of my thank you speech. Let’s move on.

Thanks to the overwhelming response to my post, I’ve begun to feel really guilty about not posting in a month. I promise you, this won’t happen again. Well, okay, it might. I can’t predict the future. Don’t be so hard on me.

But I can assure you that, if at any point I realize that I won’t be able to post for a while, I’ll put up some pretty pictures as a filler. Maybe some advertisements. It’ll be like a movie interval. You can go grab some popcorn or something.

I told you I might sound crazy today.

Ahhh, I missed this.

P.S. New post soon! I feel like I need to warn you so that you can shield your impressionable children. Insanity is infectious.

6 comments on “Did you miss me?

  1. franhunne4u says:

    No children here – and my cats are immune – or rather – they are already insane …

  2. technophile9 says:

    It’s ok, I’ve had longer breaks. 😉 And Freshly Pressed twice?! That’s awesome. 😀

    My exams start next week. *groans*. Surely they can’t mark you down for lying in French orals? My friend with a brother is going to say he’s an only child because it’s easier to say. XD

    Hang on, 3 PM in what time zone? I DON’T WANT TO MISS THOSE COOKIES! D:

    • mushroomsup says:

      Hahaha thank you 😀
      I suppose they can’t, as long as your lie is plausible. I actually lied about having an older TWIN sister. That has too many logical flaws to be overlooked, unfortunately. XD

      3 PM in the time zone of your choice. I’m flexible with timings. 😛

      And all the best for your exams!

  3. Crystal :) says:

    Your writing has the most subtle humor to me I swear- it never fails to make me laugh x) Congrats on all those awards by the way!

Leave a Reply

